Join Kevin in Saarland.
Join Kevin in Saarland.

Dr. Kevin Sours (38)

Post-doctoral researcher at the Helmholtz Institute for Pharmaceutical Research

„You'd fit in at our laboratory really well“ - that was all that my professor said to me at the time. Today, 18 months and 8,100 kilometres later, I have turned my back on my home town of Denver, Colorado (USA) and moved to the Saarland, in order to work at the Helmholtz Institute for Pharmaceutical Research. I already knew a little about European culture. What happened to me on the first day, however, was quite new: when we arrived in Saarbrücken on a public holiday my wife Kelly and I had absolutely nothing, no food, nothing for our one-year old baby. All the shops were closed. Luckily we found a bakery where we were able to buy the essentials. That saved the day for us.

07:00 h

07:00 h

Wednesday morning, our little Ivy (3) is a reliable alarm clock as always. I enjoy the early morning at the breakfast table with her and Kelly before I take the bus to work. On the way I'm already thinking about my research project: we are looking for a remedy for tuberculosis.
08:00 h

08:00 h

Unlike in the US, I rely heavily on public transport with which I always get to work on time. But besides that, I can get anywhere and everywhere by bus and train. It's really very well organised in Saarbrücken - much better than in most American cities. When I arrive at the Institute, I meet my colleagues, some of whom have become good friends. The things they did for us when we moved into our flat - not everyone would do that! They were a great help. Another reason why we feel so at home here!

„I love the interplay of cultures - multicultural Saarland!“

„I love the interplay of cultures - multicultural Saarland!“

17:00 h

17:00 h

Another day in the fight against disease is over - and every day I am grateful for the fantastic opportunities that are presented to me here: the Helmholtz Institute matches my research interests perfectly.

17:30 h

17:30 h

My day is far from over - now it's time for my German course at the university, which I go to twice a week. A good way to learn the language and get a better understanding of German culture.
18:00 h

18:00 h

My wife Kelly and daughter Ivy are already waiting for me. They have come straight from children's dancing, where the two have quickly come into contact with other mothers and children. Ivy has learned German very quickly - she can also speak a bit of the Saarland dialect. Soon she will attend a Franco-German kindergarten. I think it's great having the opportunity to learn several languages!
Some Franco-German nurseries
Some Franco-German nurseries

Some Franco-German nurseries

18:30 h

18:30 h

Time for dinner together. Today we don't want to cook, but will go to one of the many fine restaurants instead. The wide range of international cuisine in a small area doesn't make the choice easy.
20:00 h

20:00 h

Völklinger World Heritage Site
Ivy goes to bed. Time to make plans with Kelly. We love getting to know the region and its cultures. After visits to Metz and Luxembourg City we will look around the World Heritage Site at Völklingen. The cultural diversity is awesome - a place to live and relax.
Join other new arrivals through their day! Join other new arrivals through their day!

Join other new arrivals through their day!

This may also be of interest
Eating and drinking
In the Saarland you can find kitchen geniuses on every corner.
Family & children
Combine career and job?
No problem with us!
Excellent research & teaching
Such a reputation in such a small area - one more reason to come here.

Begleite Kevin einen Tag im Saarland.
Begleite Kevin einen Tag im Saarland.

Dr. Kevin Sours (38)

Postdoktorand am Helmholtz Institut für Pharmazeutische Forschung

„Du würdest super in unser Labor passen“, das war alles, was mein Professor damals zu mir sagte. Heute, 18 Monate und 8.100 km später, habe ich meiner Heimatstadt Denver, Colorado (USA) den Rücken gekehrt und bin ins Saarland gezogen, um dort am Helmholtz Institut für Pharmazeutische Forschung zu arbeiten. Die europäische Kultur kannte ich schon ein wenig. Was mir am ersten Tag passierte, war allerdings neu für mich: Am Feiertag in Saarbrücken angekommen, hatten meine Frau Kelly und ich nichts – keine Lebensmittel, nichts für unser einjähriges Baby. Alle Läden waren geschlossen. Zum Glück fanden wir eine Bäckerei, in der wir uns das Nötigste besorgen konnten. Das rettete uns den Tag.

07:00 Uhr

07:00 Uhr

Mittwochmorgen, unsere kleine Ivy (3) ist wie immer ein zuverlässiger Wecker. Ich genieße die morgendliche Zeit am Frühstückstisch mit ihr und Kelly, bevor es mit dem Bus zur Arbeit geht. Unterwegs geht mir schon meine Forschung durch den Kopf: Wir suchen nach einem Mittel gegen Tuberkulose.
08:00 Uhr

08:00 Uhr

Anders als in den USA, verlasse ich mich hier auf die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel, mit denen ich immer gut zur Arbeit komme. Aber auch sonst bringen mich Bus und Bahn überall hin. Das ist in Saarbrücken wirklich sehr gut organisiert – viel besser als in den meisten amerikanischen Städten. Am Institut angekommen treffe ich meine Kollegen, von denen einige mittlerweile auch gute Freunde geworden sind. Was sie beim Umzug in unser Apartment alles für uns getan haben – das würde nicht jeder tun! Sie waren uns eine große Hilfe. Auch deshalb fühlen wir uns hier richtig zuhause!

„Ich liebe das Zusammenspiel der Kulturen –
Multi-Kulti Saarland!“

„Ich liebe das Zusammenspiel der Kulturen –
Multi-Kulti Saarland!“

17:00 Uhr

17:00 Uhr

Ein weiterer Tag im Kampf gegen die Krankheit ist vorbei – und wie an jedem Tag bin ich dankbar für die großartigen Möglichkeiten, die sich mir hier bieten: Das Helmholtz Institut passt genau zu meinen Forschungsinteressen.

17:30 Uhr

17:30 Uhr

Mein Tag ist noch lange nicht zu Ende – jetzt ist es Zeit für meinen Deutschkurs an der Universität, den ich zwei Mal pro Woche besuche. Eine gute Möglichkeit, nicht nur um die Sprache zu erlernen, sondern auch um die deutsche Kultur besser kennenzulernen.
18:00 Uhr

18:00 Uhr

Meine Frau Kelly und Töchterchen Ivy erwarten mich bereits. Sie kommen gerade vom Kindertanzen, wo die beiden schnell den Kontakt zu anderen Müttern und Kindern gefunden haben. Ivy lernt die deutsche Sprache sehr schnell – saarländisch kann Sie auch schon ein bisschen. Demnächst soll sie einen deutsch-französischen Kindergarten besuchen. Die Möglichkeit, mehrere Sprachen zu lernen, finde ich toll!
Ausgewählte deutsch-französische Kindergärten
Ausgewählte deutsch-französische Kindergärten

Ausgewählte deutsch-französische Kindergärten

18:30 Uhr

18:30 Uhr

Zeit für das gemeinsame Abendessen. Wir wollen heute mal nicht kochen, sondern werden in eines der vielen guten Restaurants gehen. Die bunte Fülle an internationalen Küchen auf kleinstem Raum macht die Auswahl nicht leicht.
20:00 Uhr

20:00 Uhr

Weltkulturerbe Völklinger Hütte
Ivy geht ins Bett. Zeit zum Pläne schmieden mit Kelly: Wir lieben es, die Region und ihre Kulturen kennenzulernen. Nach Besuchen in Metz und Luxembourg Stadt werden wir uns das Weltkulturerbe in Völklingen ansehen. Die kulturelle Vielfalt ist genial – ein Ort zum Leben und Wohlfühlen.
Begleite weitere neu Zugezogene durch den Tag! Begleite weitere neu Zugezogene durch den Tag!

Begleite weitere neu Zugezogene durch den Tag!

Das könnte Dich auch interessieren
Essen & Trinken
Genies am Herd findest Du im Saarland an jeder Ecke.
Familie & Kinder
Karriere und Beruf vereinen?
Bei uns kein Problem!
Exzellente Forschung und Lehre
So viel Renommee auf so kleinem Raum – ein Grund mehr, hierherzukommen.