Join Maximilian in Saarland
Join Maximilian in Saarland

Maximilian Abele (24)

Industrial engineering student

The first time in a new city - and very much at home: a good university, committed lecturers and great recreational opportunities - the Saarland has surprised me and made my move very much easier. I knew of the region almost only from history lessons at school and from what a friend, who once played for FC Saarbrücken, had told me. The excellent reputation of the University of the Saarland (HTW - University of Applied Sciences) in the field of economics was what ultimately attracted me here. Now I'm very much enjoying everyday life, living in my shared flat, and participating in the Saarbrücken student scene.

08:15 h

08:15 h

Courses at Saarland University
Friday morning, the first lecture today at the university. I jumped on my bike and, because everywhere is close by in Saarbrücken, I arrived very quickly at my destination. I found it very easy to make friends as my fellow students were so open. What helped in particular was the infrastructure at the uni, which includes a special mentoring programme for freshers like me. I think my job prospects after graduation in Saarland are as good as my initial experience - particularly since the uni attaches great importance to cooperation with companies.
12:00 h

12:00 h

Between lectures there is enough time for a short break, which I like to spend in Staden Park. Here you can review your lectures in peace or simply relax a little. In good weather I also enjoy meeting up with friends for coffee at the St. Johanner market. At the same time I am constantly coming into contact with new people, which leads to stimulating conversations. The Saarlanders are very welcoming – even to people who have just arrived.
„Good conditions for studying, great leisure facilities - for me Saarbrücken is the ideal university town!“

„Good conditions for studying, great leisure facilities - for me Saarbrücken is the ideal university town!“

17:30 h

17:30 h

From the lecture hall straight to the sports hall: along with my room-mate I play in the university handball team. There I can make new contacts and also pursue my hobby. And when there's no training, I can get to the fitness centre in a flash on my bike.

20:00 h

20:00 h

Today I am going to Camera Zwo cinema with my girlfriend – this I can really recommend to everyone! The theatre scene here in Saarland is also very varied and students can even attend performances free. Culturally, there's a lot going on in Saarland - and I think that’s really great.
Old Fire Station Saarbrücken
Old Fire Station Saarbrücken

Old Fire Station Saarbrücken

22:00 h

22:00 h

Saarbrücken is really ideal for students. I share two floors with my room-mate. I could never afford such a big flat in Stuttgart. Our flat is also very centrally located. You simply can’t beat having doing something in Saarbrücken in the evening or at the weekend. I can get more or less anywhere on foot or by bike. Today I am meeting my friends in a pub in the Nauwieser district - the meeting place for many students. Then we will probably go and celebrate in one of the trendy clubs.
Join other new arrivals through their day! Join other new arrivals through their day!

Join other new arrivals through their day!

Off locations & night owls

Discotheques, individual clubs and cocktail bars as well as the casino ensure that night owls will not get bored. For instance, the trade mark ‘C’est dur la culture’ stands for cult celebrations and events in off-locations or vacant locations with their own particular flair such as the former Volksfürsorge site or old Becolin factory at the Roman fort.

This may also be of interest
Sport & action
With around 40% actively doing sports
the Saarland is number one nationwide.
Living & well-being
Here in Saarland you can find
affordable housing in a prime location.
Active night-life
Club culture meets subculture - a dream for night owls.

Begleite Maximilian einen Tag im Saarland.
Begleite Maximilian einen Tag im Saarland.

Maximilian Abele (24)

Student Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen

Zum ersten Mal in einer neuen Stadt – und gleich zu Hause: Gute FH, engagierte Dozenten und viele Freizeitmöglichkeiten – das Saarland hat mich überrascht und meinen Umzug sehr erleichtert. Das Land kannte ich fast nur aus dem Geschichtsunterricht und von dem, was mir ein Freund erzählt hat, der mal beim 1. FCS gespielt hat. Der hervorragende Ruf der htw saar im Bereich der Wirtschaftswissenschaften hat mich dann letztlich hergebracht: Heute mag ich den Alltag, das Leben in meiner WG und das Saarbrücker Studentenleben sehr.

08:15 Uhr

08:15 Uhr

Studienangebot der htw saar
Freitagmorgen, die erste Vorlesung für heute an der htw. Ich setzte mich auf mein Fahrrad, mit dem ich – dank der kurzen Wege in Saarbrücken – schnell ans Ziel komme. Anschluss fand ich wirklich leicht, so offen, wie meine Kommilitonen waren. Geholfen hat mir vor allem die Infrastruktur an der htw, zu der ein spezielles Mentorenprogramm für Erstsemester gehört. So gut wie meine Einstiegserfahrungen schätze ich auch meine Berufsaussichten nach dem Studium im Saarland ein – auch gerade weil die htw großen Wert auf die Zusammenarbeit mit Unternehmen legt.
12:00 Uhr

12:00 Uhr

Zwischen den Vorlesungen bleibt mir jetzt noch Zeit für eine kleine Auszeit: Die verbringe ich gerne am Staden. Hier kann man in Ruhe die Vorlesung nacharbeiten oder einfach mal entspannen. Bei gutem Wetter treffe ich mich aber auch gerne mit Freunden auf einen Kaffee am St. Johanner Markt. Nebenbei lerne ich so immer wieder neue Leute kennen, mit denen man sich super unterhalten kann. Die Saarländer sind echt gastfreundlich – auch bei Leuten, die neu zugezogen sind.
„Gute Studienbedingungen, tolles Freizeitangebot – Saarbrücken ist für mich die ideale Universitätsstadt!“

„Gute Studienbedingungen, tolles Freizeitangebot – Saarbrücken ist für mich die ideale Universitätsstadt!“

17:30 Uhr

17:30 Uhr

Vom Hörsaal direkt in die Sporthalle: Gemeinsam mit meinem Mitbewohner spiele ich im Verein der Universität Handball. Dort kann ich nicht nur neue Kontakte knüpfen, sondern auch meinem Hobby nachgehen. Und wenn mal kein Training ansteht, bin ich mit dem Fahrrad super schnell im Fitnesscenter!

20:00 Uhr

20:00 Uhr

Heute gehe ich mit meiner Freundin ins Kino camera zwo – das kann ich wirklich jedem empfehlen! Aber auch die Theaterszene hier im Saarland ist sehr abwechslungsreich und Studenten können sogar umsonst Vorführungen besuchen. Kulturell ist im Saarland wirklich viel los – und das finde ich klasse.
Alte Feuerwache Saarbrücken
Alte Feuerwache Saarbrücken

Alte Feuerwache Saarbrücken

22:00 Uhr

22:00 Uhr

Saarbrücken ist überhaupt für Studenten ideal. Ich teile mir mit meinem Mitbewohner zwei Etagen. So eine große Wohnung könnte ich mir in Stuttgart nie leisten. Unsere WG liegt auch sehr zentral. Besser geht’s nicht, wenn ich am Abend oder Wochenende in Saarbrücken was vorhabe. Ich komme praktisch überall zu Fuß oder mit dem Fahrrad hin. Heute treffe ich meine Freunde noch in einer Kneipe im Nauwieser Viertel – dem Treffpunkt für viele Studenten. Im Anschluss gehen wir dann vielleicht noch in einen der angesagten Clubs feiern.
Begleite weitere neu Zugezogene durch den Tag! Begleite weitere neu Zugezogene durch den Tag!

Begleite weitere neu Zugezogene durch den Tag!

Off-Locations und Tipps für Nachtschwärmer

Diskotheken, individuelle Clubs und Cocktailbars sowie die Spielbank sorgen dafür, dass bei Nachtschwärmern keine Langeweile aufkommt. So steht die Marke „C‘est dur la culture“ für Kult-Partys und Veranstaltungen in Off-Locations bzw. Leerstandsorte mit einem ganz eigenen Flair: wie der ehemaligen Volksfürsorge oder der alten Becolin-Fabrik am Römerkastell.

Das könnte Dich auch interessieren
Sport & Action
Mit rund 40 % sportlich Aktiven
ist das Saarland bundesweit spitze.
Wohnen & Wohlfühlen
Bei uns im Saarland findest Du
bezahlbaren Wohnraum in bester Lage.
Aktives Nachtleben
Clubkultur trifft Subkultur – ein Traum für Nachtschwärmer.